A Very Fine Whine

Musings of a Conservative Christian Resident Physician.

On Children (or, On Growing Up)

So of course, I’m a father of two, and as my dear reader, you must be thinking, “Yup, HE’S got alot to learn.” But I observed something the other day that sorta hit me like a ton of bricks. Ignoring my parenting skills (or the lack thereof), observe with me.

I came home from studying at school on Wednesday evening, and Lezlie and the girls were just leaving the church next door, walking home from prayer meeting.  I parked the car and came around to the front of the house to greet my family that I hadn’t seen all day, and Kaylie came running ahead to see me.  Ashleigh was a little further behind, but she soon caught up as well, and hugged me around my legs, overjoyed to see me.  Then, as she often does, she begged (in verbage that can be difficult to understand, but hey, she’s only 22 months old!) to carry my lunch box into the house.  This would only be about 40 feet or so, but my box is rather bulky, and it was heavier than it sometimes is.  Also, I think my empty coffee mug was in there, and adding the fact that the ground was slightly uneven (as lawns often are), the task was much more difficult for her to complete than she expected.  Struggling, straining, stumbling, she insisted on carrying my box by herself.  I asked her if I could help her, holding one side of the handle and she the other.  “No!” was her emphatic response, and she really did fight me for complete control of the box.  Now, at this juncture, I could have insisted that she let me help her, or even let me carry it myself, since she was technically disobeying and fighting me.  However, I allowed myself to be taught a lesson, an important object lesson from my 22-month-old daughter. See, on one level, she just wants to help.  She also wants to feel important, and to show her daddy that she can do something all by herself. She even tried carrying it in one hand, and even though it didn’t work very well, I saw that she was trying to be like me.  She wants to be like me.  In her eyes, Daddy is big. Unbelievable.  It’s still hard to see myself as a grown-up that the “little people” want to look up to, and admire.  I guess it’s just because I know me.  But I saw something else, something striking, proverbial, almost allegorical, that I almost missed.

You see, I suddenly saw myself as my daughter.  I want to do everything, or as much as possible, on my own.  I’m a human, after all, and my pride wants me to do everything in my own strength.  All along, God is reaching out to me, offering, pleading, wanting to help me. “Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy-laden and overburdened, and I will cause you to rest. [I will ease and relieve and refresh your souls.] Take My yoke upon you and learn of Me, for I am gentle (meek) and humble (lowly) in heart, and you will find rest (relief and ease and refreshment and recreation and blessed quiet) for your souls. For My yoke is wholesome (useful, good–not harsh, hard, sharp, or pressing, but comfortable, gracious, and pleasant), and My burden is light and easy to be borne.” (Matt. 11.28-30, The Amplified Bible).  At times, tired of carrying the load by myself, I give my burden to Him Who is able to bear it.  But seemingly just as often, I struggle, insisting on “being big” and handling life by myself.  I don’t want help, and I can’t stand to admit that I need help.  Even more difficult is being willing to let God be in control from the beginning.  But that is what I commonly, humanly, manly-ly, do.  And I fall, stumble, trip over my clumsy feet, refusing the steadying Hand of God.  How tragic.

Dear Father, help me to see myself as You see me.  Help me to let You control my life from the beginning of each day, each project, not waiting until I can go no further on my own accord.  I choose again to place my hand in Yours, to follow your leading.  I choose Your Yoke, Your Burden.  Amen, So Let It Be.

November 21, 2009 - Posted by | Family, Spiritual Insights

3 Comments »

  1. Excellent Post! A very valuable lesson for all of us.

    Comment by Linford | November 21, 2009 | Reply

  2. Very good observation! I love these life lessons that God brings out of “nowhere” to show us what the real picture is.

    Comment by Japheth | November 21, 2009 | Reply

  3. I love it Brother. If only we could see things better through the eyes of God. Being a parent helps with that as you suggested. I’m just glad God doesn’t punish his children as quick as we are to punishing our children. Blessings.

    Comment by Carleton Horst | November 22, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

